The full moon rite to Manannan

I finally got around to formulating a new Manannan rite. I’m not always diligent about observing my Manannan vigils on the full moon; heck, I’m never diligent about it, and I’m ashamed. I’ve wanted to come up with a new vigil format that would inspire me to said diligence.

Much of the language is co-opted and occasionally reformulated from Alexander Carmichael’s Carmina Gadelica, that indispensable book of Scottish lore. I did use some from Kenneth Hurlstone Jackson’s compendium A Celtic Miscellany: Translations from Celtic Literature. If I marked it, it’s borrowed from elsewhere. The working/trance invocation — the one that mentions the crane bag — is my own. The salt-water and sage purifications aren’t all that different from other Pagan traditions, probably; feel free to substitute whatever form of purification you feel comfortable with.

You can use your own ritual order to complement it — such as those in the Henge of Keltria or ADF — or simply use it on its own. Feel free to share with whoever is interested; it’s for public use.

Invocation: (combination of 11th and 9th century Irish verse from “A Celtic Miscellany) The ocean is full, the sea is in flood, lovely is the home of the ships. The sandy wind has made eddies. The rudder is swift upon the wide sea…. Look before you at the glorious sea, home of creatures, dwelling of seals; wanton and splendid, it has taken of flood tide. Manannan, Lord of the Sea, of wave and of magic, of travel and journeys, of wisdom and truth, I honor you on this night.
Salt water blessing: I cleanse myself with the salt and the water, with the waters of the sea, the realm of Mac Lir. (anoint and sing, from the Carmina Gadelica):
A wavelet for thy form
A wavelet for thy voice
A wavelet for thy sweet speech
A wavelet for thy luck
A wavelet for thy good
A wavelet for thy health
A wavelet for thy throat
A wavelet for thy pluck
A wavelet for thy graciousness
Nine waves for thy graciousness.
May the spirit satisfy me with the water of grace.
Cleanse with smoke: I cleanse myself with the flame and the herb, so that all that is ill is washed from me. (waft and sing, from the Carmina Gadelica):
Ward from me every distress and danger
Encompass my course over the ocean of truth
I pray thee, place thy pure light before me
O Mananann on this very night
O Mananann on this very night
Be thyself the guiding star above me
May you light every reef and shoal
Pilot my boat on the crest of the wave
To the restful haven of the waveless sea
To the restful haven of the waveless sea
The working; use divination, scrying or trance. Sing:
May Manannan grant me
A glimpse of the crane bag
A glimpse of the mysteries
In the bag of secrets.
A glimpse of the Apple Isle
And its cup of truth
The isles of the Otherworld
And the swine at its feast.
Rattle the silver bough
To laugh, cry or sleep
To lead me on my journey
And to bring me home.
The divination/trance follows; use whatever you’re called to.
The return. Ground and sing (from the Carmina Gadelica):
Bless to me, O Manannan
The earth beneath my foot,
Bless to me, O Manannan
The path whereon I go;
Bless to me, O Manannan
The thing of my desire
Bless to me, O Manannan
Bless me to my rest.
Bless to me the thing
Whereon is set my mind
Bless to me the thing
Whereon is set my love
Bless to me the thing
Whereon is set my hope
O Thou Lord of the Wave
May I be blessed in your eye.
About whitecatgrove

The musings of a Druid priestess, singer, poet and musician in Upstate New York.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The full moon rite to Manannan

  1. Pingback: Musings on the moon and sun | White Cat Grove

Leave a Reply

